OMAHA, Neb. – The CWS Championship Series is going to a third game for the third consecutive year and for the seventh time since its inception in 2003. The team that won Game 1 has won three times, while the team that won Game 2 also has won three times.


Rice 4, Stanford 3

Stanford 8, Rice 3

Rice 14, Stanford 2


North Carolina 4, Oregon State 3

Oregon State 11, North Carolina 7

Oregon State 3, North Carolina 2


Georgia 7, Fresno State 6

Fresno State 19, Georgia 10

Fresno State 6, Georgia 1


LSU 7, Texas 6

Texas 5, LSU 1

LSU 11, Texas 4


Vanderbilt 9, Virginia 8

Virginia 7, Vanderbilt 2

Vanderbilt 3, Virginia 2


Vanderbilt 5, Virginia 1

Virginia 3, Vanderbilt 0

Virginia 4, Vanderbilt 2


Coastal Carolina recorded its 54th win of the season, the highest mark in the nation.


The Chanticleers are 5-0 in elimination games in the NCAA Tournament and 4-0 in elimination games at the College World Series.


If CCU wins on Wednesday, it will be the first team to win the national title in its debut CWS appearance since Minnesota in 1956.


Anthony Marks of CCU has reached base in 13 straight games.


Zach Remillard of CCU doubled in the top of the eighth. He leads the nation with 177 total bases.


Kevin Ginkel of Arizona fanned 10 on Tuesday and did not walk a batter. He is the first hurler to strike out 10 without a walk in the CWS since Mark Redman of Oklahoma in 1994 against Auburn.


Arizona has had three different pitchers register at least 10 strikeouts in a CWS game (Nathan Bannister, Bobby Dalbec, Kevin Ginkel). They are the first team to accomplish this since Stanford in 1990 (Mike Mussina, Stan Spencer, Brian Sackinsky).


Zach Gibbons of Arizona had three hits on Tuesday. He leads the Wildcats with 23 hits in the NCAA tourney and 13 in the CWS. Gibbons had 107 hits on the season, tops in Division I. He trails only Dave Stegman for hits in a season in program history (111, 1976).


About The Author Phil Stanton