The American Baseball Coaches Association honored 51 NCAA Division I programs out of more than 300 member college and high school programs from across the country who were awarded the 2018-19 ABCA Team Academic Excellence Award.

Teams from every level of college and high school baseball were recognized with this year’s award, which highlights programs coached by ABCA members that posted a GPA above 3.0 on a 4.0 scale for the entire 2018-19 academic year.
This year, 310 college and high school programs received this year’s award, including NCAA Div. III national champion Chapman University (Calif.) and NJCAA Div. II champs Northern Oklahoma College-Enid. In total, 99 high school teams along with 211 programs from the NCAA Div. I, II, III, NAIA, and junior college levels were recognized.
“We are proud to once again honor the academic achievements of so many of our member programs,” said ABCA Executive Director Craig Keilitz. “The off-the-field success of this year’s award winners is a testament to the hard work of the student-athletes and the commitment of coaches and academic personnel to developing well-rounded individuals.”

The American Baseball Coaches Association has a long tradition of recognizing the achievements of baseball coaches and student-athletes. The ABCA/Rawlings All-America Teams are the nation’s oldest, founded in 1949, and the ABCA’s awards program also includes the ABCA/Rawlings All-Region Awards, the ABCA/Diamond Regional & National Coaches of the Year and several other major awards such as the ABCA Hall of Fame and the Dave Keilitz Ethics in Coaching Award.

NCAA Division I

Alabama State University
Ball State University (IN)
Baylor University (TX)
Bradley University (IL)
Butler University (IN)
Campbell University (NC)
Central Michigan University
Chicago State University (IL)
College of Holy Cross (MA)
College of William and Mary (VA)
Coppin State University (MD)
Davidson College (NC)
Duke University (NC)
East Carolina University (NC)
Eastern Kentucky University
Fordham University (NY)
Gardner-Webb University (NC)
Harvard University (MA)
Hofstra University (NY)
Lafayette College (PA)
LIU Brooklyn (NY)
McNeese State University (LA)
Mercer University (GA)
Michigan State University
North Dakota State University
Oral Roberts University (OK)
Oregon State University
Samford University (AL)
Santa Clara University (CA)
Southeastern Louisiana University
St. John’s University (NY)
The Citadel (SC)
Tulane University (LA)
UNC Greensboro
University of Alabama at Birmingham
University of Arkansas at Little Rock
University of Cincinnati (OH)
University of Hartford (CT)
University of Kansas
University of Kentucky
University of Louisville (KY)
University of Memphis (TN)
University of Missouri
University of Pennsylvania
University of Portland (OR)
Utah Valley University
Valparaiso University (IN)
Western Michigan University
Wichita State University (KS)
Yale University (CT)

About The Author Phil Stanton